A Poem by My Daughter

I’m a Girl

I’m a girl with a strong liver and an even stronger spirit.

Who only needed one heartbreak to learn her lesson and who doesn’t let just anybody into her life.

I’m a girl who takes her shots without a chaser

and who prefers bare feet to high heels.

I’m a girl who drives too fast and listens to her music too loud.

I care so much it hurts, and I have a heart that’s too big for my body.

I laugh too loud and cuss when I’m mad.

Country music speaks to my soul, and I’ve always preferred open spaces to the city anyway.

Sometimes I just need a cigarette and I don’t need your judgment.

I’m a girl who thinks that a big bowl of ice cream can make anything better

and who pretends she doesn’t cry during sad movies.

I cut my hair to defy gender roles.

At a party, I’m not gonna shove my tits in your face,

but I will throw my words at you. And if you can’t handle them,

then you can’t handle me.

I talk to my cat and I swear that she understands me.

I don’t like every single person I meet, but I do my best to love them all.

I don’t believe in God, but sometimes I just need to pray to Something.

I say the word Fuck when I probably shouldn’t,

but that never seems to stop me.

I’m not a size 2 but I don’t want to be either.

I’m a girl who would rather play in the waves than lay in the sand.

A girl who’s not afraid to get her hands dirty

and sweat from a day’s hard work.

When I see something happening that is wrong, I do something about it

and I stand up for those who can’t stand up for themselves.

I’m a girl that some would call crazy, and maybe I am.

Crazy makes life more interesting.

I’m scared to death of having a child, and even more scared of raising one.

I may not ever be Miss America, but I will always be my daddy’s princess.

I’m a girl who is as free as the bird she always wanted to be.

And someday I will fly away.

I’m a girl who believes that there is never a wrong time to say “You’re beautiful”

or “I love you”

I’m a dreamer and a lover and a sister and a daughter.

I can’t tell you where I’m going to be in a year or what I’m going to be like then.

I’m a girl who is a different person depending on the day of the week and what she had for lunch.

But one thing is for sure and is never going to change.

I am a girl who is never going to be anybody but me.

Leave a Reply

